Versions & Locking

How to use the Decision Engine's change management features.

Overview

DigiFi's Decision Engine offers a robust change management process that includes Strategy versioning. Each strategy has a version number, which is set to 1 when the Strategy is created and incremented by 1 each time a new version is created. You can create an unlimited number of versions for each Strategy.


Create New Version

You can create a new, unlocked version of a Strategy by clicking the Create New Version button within the Strategy's primary view.

If you would like to view and navigate between different versions of a strategy, you can do so from the Versions tab of each Strategy.

👍

Create New Version From Any Prior Version

Creating a new version creates an exact copy of the prior version. Typically you'll create new versions based on the latest version, but if you want to create a new version based on a previous version, simply select Create New Version from that version of the Strategy (either from the Strategy list or the primary Strategy view).


Update History

Tracking updates helps users understand historical changes and ensure compliance. Every time a change is made to a Strategy, DigiFi records which user made the change and when the change was made.

A record of historical changes can be viewed on the Update History tab of each Strategy.


Version Locking

If you set a version of a strategy to Active, this version becomes locked.

Locked versions cannot be edited or unlocked. This has a number of key benefits:

  • You can edit Strategies without worrying that it will cause any production-related issues, since Active versions cannot be edited.
  • If you want to understand how a prior automated process executed, you can refer to the version of the Strategy that was used. Since this version will be locked, the exact details are preserved.

You can see if a version is locked based on the lock icon that appears near the Strategy name.